Phew! What a month!

It’s almost been a month since my last post. I’ve been insanely busy but it’s all been positive and a real learning curve. If you remember my last post I mentioned my new job. Well I’ve been given the opportunity to work with a couple of young people who have been in the court system and now need a bit of mentoring to try and steer them back to finding their potential. So far it’s been so difficult and I’ve loved every minute of it. I hope it continues past these two clients! I would love to keep learning from the other people in the job.

I am pretty tired writing this at the moment. I was up at 6:30am to make a berry and banana smoothie and drive to Christchurch to make sure I was able to get one of my young people up and out of bed, get the smoothie into them for breakfast and get them to the bus for camp. I succeeded and I couldn’t be happier. It’s nice to know that one little part of my day has made a decent difference for someone. She may hate the camp, she might be throwing a tantrum halfway up a mountain as I type but she is there and she is fulfilling requirements to get her life back on track.

Currently in Christchurch, and all over New Zealand we’re turning from Summer to Autumn

imageimage

I’m making sure I enjoy every last bit of sunshine! I know that soon enough I will be whinging about how itchy and disgusting you feel in a lecture after running through the rain to get to it.

As part of the busy times this month I have got myself some pretty decent grades. Goes to show that adult students can box with the rest of them.

imageimage

I think that the grades reflect the fact that I am totally aware of how much this is all costing me. I know that I need to succeed this time round and that unfortunately for me at this stage in my life I won’t get a second chance. I study, I read my required readings and I turn up to class… well except for last week when everyone in my house was spewing! Thank God for LEARN (the online University of Canterbury Moodle) so that I could catch up on most of the things I missed.

As for now I am feeling pretty blessed that my husband took my car to work tonight and took all my notes and books with him. So it is a night off from study for me! I feel calm about it because the inside of my brain looks a bit like the night my husband had to make a powerpoint presentation for his work 😉

image

How on earth did the baby wipes get involved in that mess? Who knows…

🙂

Leave a Reply

